Our Team

The Benefice Ministry Team

The Rector

Revd Cassa Messervy became rector of the Wychert Vale Benefice in April 2021.She was previously vicar of Holy Trinity Church, Seer Green and Jordans and before that had a career in education. Cassa has served more widely in the diocese in various roles such as Associate Area Dean of Amersham Deanery, a member of Oxford Diocesan Synod and Bishop’s Council. She is passionate about children, schools and families ministry and has been involved with Lighthouse Beaconsfield, planting new family focussed congregations and has served as a governor in several schools. Cassa has an academic interest in ecclesiastical law. She is married to Myles, an electrical project manager for SSE and they have three school aged children. 

The Associate Rector

The Revd Canon Dr Phil Groves

Phil joined our benefice team in 2016. He has a depth of experience of parish ministry and world mission. He loves telling stories that engage people of all ages. Before coming to the benefice, he worked at the Anglican Communion Office for 10 years where he enabled Anglicans around the globe to listen to the experience of LGBTI+ people and then developed processes of mutual listening and reconciliation. He is the co-author of Living Reconciliation – a book recommended by Archbishop Desmond Tutu and Archbishop Justin Welby. He is also the chair of the Anglican Peace and Justice Network.

He was a lecturer in theology in Tanzania, and worked in parishes in Leeds and Melton Mowbray.

Revd Jonathan Hawkins:


Jonathan, a retired Chartered Surveyor is an Associate Minister living in Haddenham with a focus on Pastoral Care within the benefice and has served across the benefice since Sept. 2010. He is currently an Assistant Area Dean for Aylesbury with particular interest in the rural area and ministry to older people. He is also the Buckinghamshire Archdeaconry SSM Officer.

Jonathan has experience of mentoring LLM trainees and is an Aylesbury Deanery Vocations Adviser.

Revd Trish Mander:

Trish was ordained in 2013 and is an Associate Minister within the benefice. She has a focus on Haddenham and Kingsey


Revd Nigel Featherston:

Nigel was ordained in 2017 and priested in 2018 having previously been a licensed lay minister in the benefice. Nigel has a full-time secular job. He lives in Dinton and has a focus on Dinton itself as well as Stone; he also serves across the benefice.


Ven Dr Gordon Kuhrt retired to Haddenham in 2012. Gordon has joined the Benefice Service Planning group and chairs Haddenham worship and witness PCC subgroup. He preaches around the benefice and elsewhere.

Olive Kuhrt: retired but is an active LLM based in Haddenham who also regularly plays for services within the benefice.

Adrian Collier: retired and an LLM based in Haddenham. Adrian supports the midweek communion and services mostly in Haddenham and Kingsey. He leads a home group and is active in pastoral visiting.

David Robinson: David is retired and moved into our benefice in 2017 and was licensed as a lay minister in the benefice in 2018. He brings with him many years of experience as a licensed lay minister in other places.

Authorised Preachers: We have four authorised preachers: David Pickup;  Andy Hardy;  Graham Carr; and Prof Markus Bockmuehl. We also have a number of more occasional preachers and service leaders who are members of the preachers group.

Benefice operations management

Wychert Vale Benefice has a large volunteer ministry team and highly enabled lay people serving in every aspect of the churches’ ministry. Youth ministry, Fresh Expressions, ministry to elderly people, healing ministry and many other areas are lay-led. This creates a dynamic situation and also one that needs considerable nurture and management.

The Haddenham Benefice has been supported by the Parish Office in the St Mary’s Centre in Haddenham. On becoming Wychert Vale Benefice, the parish office was re-named the Benefice Office and has widened its scope to provide management for the new benefice.


The website for the parishes of Aston Sandford, Cuddington, Dinton and Stone, Haddenham and Kingsey